Comparing Werth to Pence

Let me first apologize for not writing in this blog. I’ve been leaving it to the professionals lately. I’m just one humble woman with her own unique view of the Phillies. This entry though is overdue.

It’s not really fair to compare two professional ballplayers. They  have their own unique way and style of playing and contributing to the game of baseball. This comparison is however how I view these two players- in other words my own personal perspective.

Now, if you’ve been reading my blog and/or know me personally, you know what a huge Jason Werth fan I am. I still am. He’s had a transitional year for the Nationals. It’s all good. I thought of him when I watched the celebrations last night when the Phils clinched the NL East championship title. I missed him. I wished that he was part of the celebration. I’ll even admit that there was a slight twinge of regret felt by me. He’s moved on though.

So, all this season, I’ve scrambled to replace him in right field. Who would be the perfect fit? At first, I thought that it would be Fransisco. Unfortunately, he couldn’t fit the bill. Would it be Brown? Nope. He has a lot more seasoning and growing to do. There was definitely a strong need to fill the right field spot as well as the 5th hole in the lineup. Manuel tried everyone but nobody seemed to be able to anchor Howard.

Along came Hunter Pence. I must admit that I really didn’t know much about him. Would he be what the Phils needed? Well, nobody was ever more elated and impressed to see Pence fit the hole perfectly. He’s so enthusiastic and uniquely Pence. He’s fun to watch. He’s fun to listen to being interviewed. He’s a perfect fit to the Phillies team. At last, we had our guy to move into the spot that Werth vacated. I am a new Hunter Pence fan.

I still admire and respect Jayson Werth. I’ll follow him. I’ll always be a fan; however, look out Jayson. There’s a new man in Philly. His name is Hunter Pence and he’s taking over admirably from where you left off.

So be it! 🙂

2 comments

  1. Phanatic Addict

    Don’t leave anything to the professionals. We’re all just couch GM’s with an opinion. Divulge. Let it out.

    I don’t know right now if there is a comparison to Pence. The energy and enthusiastic play that he is showing is really translating to the fans and the rest of the Phillies clubhouse.

  2. mlblogsbarbward

    I agree with that Phanatic. What I was trying to say is that Werth’s hole that he left in the lineup and RF wasn’t completely filled until Pence came along. Now, it is and I’m happy for it. The transition is complete. 🙂

Leave a comment