Werth Radar in Check

I was wondering all day yesterday how I’d feel to see officially Werth in a Nats uniform and see him play for another team. He was my favorite Phillie and it was difficult for me to see him leave. It was surreal but, guess what, I’m good with it. I have my home team priorities in check and was rooting against him.

Not that I wish him evil though. I still consider myself a fan of his. It was good to hear that the Phillies players liked him in the clubhouse. It was good to hear that they exchanged laughs and chat with him before the game but once the game started he was just a player for the oppossing team. That’s the way it should be. Once this series is ended, I’m still going to be checking in on him and his stats. I will be rooting for him, the player.

Sad  that it was a rather ugly game though. Sorry that it took our team to shake Werth out of his malaise and have a great game. Sorry that he hit a homer against Blanton. Sorry that we couldn’t beat those pesty Nats last night.

Today brings another game and another chance. We have an Ace on the mound tonight. If the offense performs well, then, we  can beat those Nats.

5 comments

  1. rrrt

    Gotta admit I have mixed feelings over Werth – won’t go into all of them here, that would be a blog post in its own right! 🙂 Though I really didn’t need to see that photo of him on the front of the Inquirer over my breakfast this morning.
    Sue
    Rants, Raves, and Random Thoughts

  2. pinstripesarered

    I know how you feel. I’m heading to DC tonight to sit in right filed seats. I won’t heckle Jayson, but he will know I am there. I will be cheering for my Phillies. I didn’t had a problem with the way he played,(streaky though he was, and I wished he’s catch with two hand!). I did have a problem with the way he left. It wasn’t the best way to part ways. I hold no ill will, but I don’t want him having a good game against my boys.

  3. barbward

    Thanks everyone for your comments. I appreciate them. @ Shieldsy..Thanks John for the compliment. Please keep on reading and I’m going to do the same on your blog.

    @ Rants… If you didn’t like seeing Werth’s pic in the Inquirer, how did you like that huge pic of him hanging off the parking lot at Nationals field 🙂 Yikes! It’s larger than life. I have to say I have mixed feelings too but overall Werth can play ball and he’s making the most of it. I still am a fan and follower of him.

    @ Pinstripes… No, it wasn’t the best way to leave. It was messy. Some hard feelings were expressed. I think that it came back to heart over head on choosing and the head won out. I think though that the heart still has fond feelings. Have a great time at the game and certainly cheer our boys on in RF.

Leave a Reply

