Reflection on Phillie Season 2010

 I’m very sad this morning because we had to put a wrap on the Phillies baseball season last night. Sad for the players who took the loss I’m sure so deeply. Sad to acknowledge that Jayson Werth probably won’t be in pinstripes next season. All good things must come to an end though.

This was a season filled with too many injuries yet it important to remember that it was also filled with many triumphs and fun filled memories to take with us during the off season. My favorite of all these was watching Roy Oswalt run out to left field because we had no bench left. How many times would you see something like that? His grin was priceless . He did what he had to do and he did it with style, humor and a sense of fun. You have to love this guy for that and much more. What a great acquisition Roy was and a great addition to our team! Roy Halladay pitching the perfect game was another fond memory. He  also brings much to the team both on and off the field. He gave us a great season and he always gave it his all and more. Carlos Ruiz gave us a great season catching as well as batting. I still say he deserves to be MVP for this season. He is truly a support player and has a keen eye for the pitchers. He has great instincts, a great throwing arm and great pride in what he does.Congratulations to Raul Ibanez and Jayson Werth for staying injury free this season. I was saying prayers for them. Add to these memories are the many walk off wins, timely homeruns and great defensive plays. Let’s not forget adding a great person like Mike Sweeney. I’d stand in line for hours just to recieve one of his hugs. His positive energy is infectous and added much to the spirit of the team.

 

So, I shall pack up all my shirts (there’s alot of them) and call it a season. I really invested much in time and money this season. I don’t regret that. It was fun and I learned a lot about baseball and our team. I learned what it means to never give up, to power through many adversities and end up farther than you ever thought might be possible. I am and always will be a loyal Phillies fan no matter what will come.

Thanks for all the fellow Phillies Fans that I’ve met this season. I also met a lot of the sports writers/ announcers and bloggers on their sites. I exchanged emails with them and spent some quality time on Twitter with them

 

It’s been a great season and I’m proud of our fantastic Phillies team. You done good! Hold your heads up high. You gave it your best shot.Thanks for all the great memories. I shall them in the off season.

.

3 comments

  1. the_phanatic_addict

    There you are! I bookmarked your page, but it didn’t work… Whatever.

    I totally agree with you, it was a fun season despite the outcome. It was a pleasure making friends with you and the other bloggers on Mlblogs.com.

    I don’t regret a single buck I spent down at the ballpark, except for a few of those hot dogs! I’m trying to lose weight for my wedding!!

    Keep on bloggingthrough the winter, I think it will help with our sanity.

    I wouclose the book on Jayson just yet, it’s a long shot but he’s the best thing out there unless we can make some cuts and go after Cliff. I hope they can figure some things out because there ate some serious holes in this team. On paper they look awesome, but they need a good offseason of conditioning if they plan to contend again.
    Thanks again for contributing to the conversations on my FB and blog. I really do appreciate it!

    Talk to you soon!

    Michael

    http://phanaticaddict.mlblogs.com/

  2. barbward

    Well, somebody read my blog. LOL. Thanks for the comment and, again, congratualtions and my very best wishes on your upcoming wedding.

    Barb

  3. the_phanatic_addict

    I added a link to your blog on the side of mine, check it out. Maybe that will help. I don’t have many people that comment on mine either. They do that mostly on my Facebook, which is fine. I only know that people look at it since I added the hit counter. I mainly write just because my fiance Genna gets pretty tired of talking about baseball with me everyday. It’s just more fun to chat it up with other fans.

    http://phanaticaddict.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

